Great article to get those creative juices flowing.

Novelty Revisions

blog081316

Is creativity something that can be exercised? If you have ever taken a creative writing class, your answer should most definitely be yes. I spent my first few weeks of my first creative writing class frustrated that we weren’t doing enough writing. It turns out you can’t write without being creative, and you can’t practice writing without also taking the time to practice creativity.

How do you “practice” something so abstract? Here are a few of my favorite suggestions.


Come up with random writing prompts

On my first laptop, I used the Stickies app (virtual sticky notes that “stick” to your desktop) to keep track of random writing prompts. Every once in awhile a character would pop into my head – a trait or flaw or desired achievement – and I’d stick it there, knowing I’d be able to find it later. Other times, I would do the opposite of…

View original post 1,538 more words

