I have had to work through this myself. I actually started writing. It was amazing. Now, in the midst of the writing, I am going back and planning things out, because I can actually see the words I am thinking getting on paper. I think it makes the tedious part of writing easier to deal with and the actual writing much more exciting.

Novelty Revisions

3285448945_7cdceccf0c_o

Whenever we get a brand-new idea, the first thing we want to do is tell the whole world about it. That’s a completely normal human impulse. But we have to make it stop.

Stop. Stop saying, “I’m going to write this thing! It’s going to be great!”

Stop talking about it and write the thing!

There’s one problem with setting writing goals …

… and it’s that when you spend more time thinking and planning and talking about what you are going to write than actually writing, you’re just hurting yourself. Really. I am the kind of person who has to talk about things as I’m doing them, because I have a tendency to not hold myself accountable in my own head very well. But that’s the key: you can talk about what you are doing, as long as you are doing the thing as you are talking about it.

View original post 438 more words

