One of my biggest pet peeves is when I am trying to read a story and I have to “figure out” what most of the words mean, because they thought big, hardly used words are the way to write the story. I want to enjoy the story, not get a vocabulary lesson.

Novelty Revisions

words1

My brain just melted.

Not only do I write a lot (too much) and blog for all of you (too much, probably) but I also do a lot of health-related writing/editing/rewriting because that’s sort of what I’m studying in grad school, except for right now, when I am being asked to understand how America’s health care system worksdoesn’t work is set up, but surprisingly, that’s not why my brain just melted.

I just had to edit about 1200 words about phytochemicals. You probably don’t know what those are and that isn’t important right now. What’s important is that it’s been awhile since I’ve seen such a wordy, data-dumped, TOTALLY BORING piece of writing. I almost have an advanced degree and I had to read some sentences three times to understand the language. And I’m a total dork when it comes to reading anything nutrition-related. There were just too many big…

View original post 352 more words

